Skip to content Skip to footer

The Munster Reds squad has been announced for the first Test Triangle IP20 Festival which takes place at Pembroke Cricket Club between Saturday and Monday, 22nd – 24th June.

The full Reds squad is as follows:

  1. Jeremy Benton* (Cork County)
  2. Cormac Hassett (Cork County)
  3. Yacob Ali (County Kerry)
  4. Ruadhan Jones (Cork Harlequins)
  5. Senan Jones  (Cork Harlequins)
  6. Max Sorensen (Merrion)
  7. Jared Barnes (Rush)
  8. Jack Tector  (YMCA)
  9. Stephen Doheny (Rush)
  10. Nic Pretorius (Phoenix)
  11. Eddie Richardson (North County)
  12. JJ Garth (Pembroke)
  13. Nathan McGuire (Rush)

The five Munster based players are unchanged from the 2018 Festival in Pembroke which saw Munster Reds win two out of three games with Jeremy Benton captaining the side joined by his club teammate Cormac Hassett. Good early season form from left arm seamer, Senan Jones, sees him retain his place in the squad. Promising spinner, Diarmuid Carey, has been tied up in State Examinations and, thus, was not considered for selection. Hopefully, he will come into contention for selection for the August festival games.

The Munster selectors have been working very closely with the Irish Senior Selectors in order to give opportunities to younger players seen as having the potential to play for Ireland in this format. Accordingly, spinner JJ Garth and batsman Nathan McGuire come into the squad. Experienced all-rounder, Eddie Richardson, also joins the Reds squad for the first time.

Munster Reds Coach, Ted Williamson commented that the challenge for us is to try and replicate what we did last year while at the same time trying to make little improvements from an individual and collective point of view. The introduction of some younger players with an eye on the bigger picture will add some new skill sets to our squad and that coupled with the confidence and belief gained from our performances in 2018 will make us even more competitive this season.

IP20 Festival – Pembroke

  1. Leinster Lighting – Saturday @ 4pm
  2. Northern Knights – Sunday @ 11am 
  3. North West Warriors – Monday @ 11am

Follow the action

Follow the action on ESPN Cricinfo or via My Cricket Ireland app. #TTIP2019 #RedsCricket

Leave a comment