Skip to content Skip to footer

Cricket in Munster

Munster Cricket is made up of many affiliated sports clubs throughout the province of Munster engaged in the playing of cricket. Since its formation in 1956, its role is to promote, foster and organise the playing of cricket in the province. 

There are currently 13 affiliated clubs with 27 teams participating in senior and youth competitions as well as through a network of T20 and social cricket. The number of clubs is increasing all the time with renewed interest in the sport in the fast-growing areas around the hubs of Cork, Limerick, Waterford and Tralee.

Interprovincial Cricket

Munster is home to the Munster Reds and Munster Heat cricket teams.

The Munster Reds are the Inter-Provincial franchise representing Ireland’s southern province. The side currently compete in annual IP20 & IP50 competitions throughout the cricket season.

Munster Heat play both white-ball formats in a packed program held in the middle of summer. This is a great opportunity for local players to test their skills against their peers in the other provinces.

PHOTO-2023-05-19-10-50-26 (1)
** REPRO FREE **An aerial view of The Richard Beamish Grounds, Mardyke, Cork during the Cricket Ireland Inter-Provincial Cup game between Munster Reds and Northern Knights - 24/05/2022Photo Credit - Oisín Keniry

Youth Cricket

We run inter-club and schools’ competitions across a range of ages and grades:

Junior & Senior Munster

Schools Championships

U11/Minor Youth Blitz’s

U13 Inter-club League

Colts Inter-club League

U17/Senior Youth Challenge series

In addition, our youth players make up a significant proportion of the adult sides across the provincial competitions as clubs promote youth development.